RSS Feed

SKIRT & Tote Project

Posted on

Hi Everyone!

Hope all is well, and Blessed by God’s Grace.ย  I’m most definitely Blessed by HIM each day HE allows me another chance to see another day.

I was Blessed with this Beautiful Printed Fabric by a friend a while back. I finally made something out of it. The fabric was just enough for this project, and to be creative with what I already have.

The project is for my granddaughter, therefore a pair of her Old Jeans was made into a New Skirt, and a Tote Bag.

The preparation:

FABRIC

image

CUT JEANS PANTS

image

NEXT, I cut two pieces of the Printed Fabric to be stitched in the middle of both front, and back of the bottom cut pants for the Drawstring Skirt.

image

image

The upper part of the Jeans Pants will be made into a Tote Bag.

image

Here are the Finished Projects:

Drawstring Skirt Front:

image

Skirt Back:

image

I also added a lining unde the skirt.

image

Tote Bag Front:

image

Tote Bag Back:

image

Until my next post, Be Blessed Everyone!
Mtetar

42 responses »

  1. My mom and mother in law are both good at sewing, and I remember I enjoyed it when I learned how to long ago. These projects are great ways to give new life to things that don’t fit…I especially like the tote bag! Thanks for sharing your talents! Blessings–Alison

    Reply
    • Thanks, Alison! Glad to have you visit with and uplifting comment. I’m so grateful for God’s Blessings of creativity. Hope all is well with you, and your family. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  2. Your GD will be lookin’ so good!!! You would find something like these in the most $$$ boutiques!!!! You are a wonder, for sure. Hugs, Doreen

    Reply
  3. I love how you had the vision to take one pair of jeans and rework them into both a skirt and a tote bag. Very clever!

    Also, was lining the jeans skirt very hard? I’m all about lining things now. ๐Ÿ™‚ I was wondering if the jeans material plus the lining material made a bulky bundle to sew. My daughter would love both a skirt and bag like this.

    Reply
    • Thank you Joan for such inspiring comment, and I’m glad you visited. I don’t like clothes without it being fully lined. I don’t care much about wearing slips and that’s why I prefer lining my clothes. It also gives the garment a better look, quality, and last longer. The lining is very soft and light weight, and didn’t make it bulky or difficult to sew. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  4. This outfit is super cute & I love the tote. Thank you for sharing Mtetar. Remember to be a blessing. Let everything you do be done unto the Lord.

    Remember this do in remembrance of Him.

    Be encouraged. Be inspired. Be who He created you to be.

    With Love Always,
    Bella Grace

    Reply
    • Thank you Bella for stopping by, commenting, and especially for encouraging. Yes I do agree that it is because of the LORD I’m able to receive, and do all that I do. Without HIM I’m nothing. Thank you Father God for Blessing me with my all, including my creativity. Be Blessed Bella, Mtetar

      Reply
  5. Lovely project so pretty ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. That is so clever and so cute for a little girl.

    Reply
  7. Those are great projects! I especially love the bag. So cute, now she has a bag to match her skirt. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. These are just the cutest things Mtetar!!! Great job! Your granddaughter is going to be adorable wearing those!

    Reply
  9. Hi Mtetar, I love your Granddaughter’s new skirt. It is so original and pretty. Just a thought…..could it be reversible if you added a little patch pocket or maybe a flower to the lining? I’m sure she will love her little bag too. It’s gorgeous. What a clever way to make use of something she has grown out of. Avis x

    Reply
    • Thanks a bunch, Avis x! It is always nice to have you visit with such encouraging comment, and also leaving advice. Yes that can be done with the skirt, and that was my original intention. The hem of the lining was a little too short. I could also add a nice gathered lace at the bottom of the lining. I’m always working with what I’ve and sometimes not much, but do make it work with the help of the Lord. Be Blessed, Avis x! Mtetar

      Reply
  10. Mtetar, I really love these! it was a good idea to use her old jeans to create these! it reminds me of a purse one of my mom’s friend made for me when I was 8 years old from an old pair of jeans! I loved that purse so much, I kept it in my bedroom until I was 18 (not kidding). I love handbags made of recycled fabrics for an every day use! The tote bag you made for your granddaughter is so pretty! You know, I still have a picture of myself holding a tote bag my mom made for me when I was only 4 years old! (I find it special you do all this for your granddaughter), my mom makes things for my son too and I love her for it! ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you will have a wonderful weekend Mtetar! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you so much, Ingrid! I’m so glad to have you visit. I’m being content, and using what I have, and what God Blesses me with through others. God is so good and is always there with HIS Grace. Without HIM I couldn’t imagine life being unemployed. I hope it is possible for you to share your mom’s creativity of Nate’s Clothes, and your Tote Bag. That’s a Blessing she can do that. Thanks so much for your inspiration, and sharing your story it made my day. Kind regards to your family. Have a Blessed Weekend! Mtetar

      Reply
  11. Wow, it’s beautiful!!!

    Reply
  12. Hi Mtetar!

    I love these projects! I’m a retired Home Economics teacher…and I’ve made a blue jean beach bag with a pair of my son’s old jeans…I think your granddaughter is going to love wearing the skirt, and carrying the tote bag you made! Well done! God Bless!!

    Reply
  13. ABSOLUTLEY FANTASTIC!!!! Super, well done Mtetar xxx

    Reply
  14. Pingback: April’s “Made It” – Sew Exciting! | woolhogs

  15. wow, I am SO making a jeans tote bag. It is STUNNING ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

