RSS Feed

MIXED P R I N T S

Posted on

Hello Everyone!

Hope all is well, and Blessed with you all as it is with me. I’m both grateful and thankful being able to see this day, and being strengthened through God’s Grace and Mercy.

I will like to share my most recent Sewing Project which was very challenging for me. This is my first ever Fully Lined Garment. All thanks to GOD for making it all worked along with patience, and determination.

My Granddaughter inspires me with sewing more these days. She compliments me with each and every project I make. She likes watching me sew and actually wants to try using the Fabric Machine as she calls the Sewing Machine.

The dress is made from two different fabrics.

image

The most difficult task in sewing this dress was the lining which I wanted it to look reversible. Also for the first time was machine gathering. Here’s the Fully Lined/wrong side of the dress.

image

Here’s the right side of the dress.

image

I believe in waste not want not. I had some fabric leftover and thought why not upcycle one of My Granddaughter’s Sweaters. Kindly excause the color variation of the camera. The pics were taken at a different time.

image

image

image

Out of both sleeves I was able to get four patches, for a scarf.

image

The last piece I was able to sew a Tote Bag.

image

image

Until my next post, Be Blessed Everyone!

image

32 responses »

  1. I think I just found another great blog to follow – a gal after my own heart!! I love these projects, especially the adorable dress and that tote (I make purses and bags).

    Reply
    • Thanks a bunch for stopping by, and following my blog. I most certainly appreciate your comment and I look forward to sharing. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
      • πŸ˜† I know I’m going to find some good ideas here!

      • Thanks for the inspiration, and you certainly do have a lot of great ideas yourself. I like bags myself. I’m now trying to think of ways to make hats. I don’t sew by pattern. I’m looking for patterns from the seventies because those have lines for tracing seams. Be Blessed, Mtetar

  2. The dress is beautiful and I smiled after reading your Granddaughter’s words.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your uplifting comment. Glad to have you visit as always. I do as well every time she says Fabric Machine. I’m teaching her to say Sewing Machine she is getting in the practice of saying it. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  3. This is really amazing! Great job!

    Reply
    • Thank you!!! God is good and it’s only because of HIM I was able to accomplish this project. Thanks Bella for stopping by. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  4. I hope I can sew that we’ll someday! I bet your granddaughter loved her dress and looks adorable in it!

    Reply
  5. Wow! So many new things, upcycled too!! I have never seen a jersey being repurposed like that – brilliant πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I love the dress so beautiful and the tote bag, amazing projects Mtetar !!
    Wonderful πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Izabel, thank you so very much for your words of inspiration. Glad you like it, and please know your visit is of impotence. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  7. The dress is beautiful, as are all the other things you made. I can’t believe you got so many items out of the fabric. I look forward to seeing a post when your grand-daughter does start sewing with the “fabric machine”. I thought her name for it was lovely.

    Reply
  8. SUPER cute projects! I especially love the tote bag. I dabble a bit with sewing, but my main thing is crochet. i can only hope to one day aspire to your level of talent. ^_^

    Reply
    • Gray, my thanks and appreciation to you for both stopping by as well as commenting. Thanks also for following my blog. You have great patience in your line of many crafts. I’m a Novice with crocheting. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  9. The dress and the tote look beautiful Mtetar! great work you did here! I love that you don’t waste anything, I try doing the same here, I love updating everything I already have around the house! πŸ™‚ I would love to sew but I don’t have much time anymore and my skills aren’t good, so I only do it once in a while πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you Ingrid for always stopping by with such inspiring comment. Glad you like it, and maybe you found something else more of interest than sewing. Is where your passion is that matters. You do great with all that you do. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  10. I always love to see your upcycling projects Mtetar. I wish I had half of the vision you do. You are a great role model for your little budding seamstress who is learning so much from you πŸ™‚
    Thanks for sharing! Avis x

    Reply
    • Thank you!!! What a compliment Avis x it is very much uplifting. Thank you for always stopping by and commenting. Glad you like them. Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
  11. Brilliant – so clever and all items look lovely.

    Reply
  12. You certainly do have a way with that “fabric machine”!! That dress is incredible! I can only imagine the patience it took to create that! Also, I am so impressed with what you did with that sweater. Now that is absolutely amazing! You really could be selling your creations for big money!!

    Reply
    • Thank you, thank you, thank you, Melissa! Yes I needed the patience with inserting the lining for the reversible look. Thank you for your comment of inspiration. Glad to have you always visit with a comment. Did you start your patching project with the children’s clothes? Be Blessed, Mtetar

      Reply
      • You’re very welcome Mtetar! I’m always so happy to see you using all of your talent! I actually mentioned to my mom that I was about to undergo patching the knees on several of Bency’s jeans and she said she had just purchased iron-on patches for just that reason so she took them and mended them all for me! Eventually I’ll learn how to do it because I see a future with lots of ripped knees with two boys in the family. I saw some cute things on Pinterest that I would like to try where they actually made little monster faces on the worn out jean knees!

      • What a Blessing for your mom to do it. Patches are a big fashion with garments, and can cost a lot depending on what the item is. I always like stitching around the iron on patches for more security. Thanks for commenting it is inspiring. Be Blessed, Mtetar

Leave a Reply

